Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Bud Powell: Time Waits LP (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series)

Bud Powell

Blue Note, 1958

Donald Byrd’s 1967 album “Slow Drag” was one of the last pure hard bop records the trumpeter would make before his music began evolving towards jazz-funk. Byrd flies high on this gratifyingly gritty set featuring alto saxophonist Sonny Red, pianist Cedar Walton, bassist Walter Booker and drummer Billy Higgins. This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analogue master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and packaged in a deluxe gatefold tip-on jacket.


A1: Buster Rides Again
A2: Sub City
A3: Time Waits
A4: Marmalade
B1: Monopoly
B2: John's Abbey
B3: Dry Soul
B4: Sub City (Alternate Take)

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is stereo, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.


  • Recorded - May 12, 1967 at Van Gelder Studio, New Jersey
  • Engineer - Rudy Van Gelder
  • Producer - Alfred Lion