Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Andrew Hill: Black Fire LP (Blue Note Tone Poet Series)

Andrew Hill

Blue Note, 1964

Andrew Hill’s Black Fire is both the pianist and composer’s debut and an acknowledged masterpiece of modern post-bop jazz. Featuring a sublime quartet with Joe Henderson on tenor saxophone, Richard Davis on bass, and Roy Haynes on drums, the music still sounds as fresh today as it did the day it was recorded in November 1963, the start of an astounding creative streak that also produced Hill’s great albums Smokestack, Judgment!, and Point of Departure during a period of just 4 months.


Side A

  1. Pumpkin
  2. Subterfuge
  3. Black Fire

Side B

  1. Cantardos
  2. Tired Trade
  3. McNeil Island
  4. Land Of Nod

Blue Note Records’ Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tape 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).