Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Andrew Hill: Dance With Death (Blue Note Tone Poet Series) LP

Andrew Hill

Blue Note, 1980

Andrew Hill’s 1968 album “Dance With Death” stands as one of the most gratifying though under-recognized sessions of the brilliant pianist’s discography which wasn’t released until 1980. Hill’s vision as a composer is expressed effortlessly through his adventurous, creative pianism. This superbly versatile quartet stretch themselves out whilst working effortlessly within the form and style of late 60s post bop.

This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at Record Technology Inc. (RTI), and packaged in a deluxe gatefold tip-on jacket.


A1: Yellow Violet

A2: Partitions

A3: Fish 'N Rice


B1: Dance With Death

B2: Love Nocturne

B3: Black Sabbath

  • Recorded - 11 October 1968, Van Gelder Studio, New Jersey
  • Producer - Francis Wolff