Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers: Meet You At The Corner of the World Vol. 1 LP (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition)

Art Blakey

Blue Note, 1962

The legendary NYC jazz club Birdland was sacred ground for drummer Art Blakey who recorded 3 live albums for Blue Note at the venue between 1954-1960: “A Night at Birdland”, “At the Jazz Corner of the World”, and Meet You at the Jazz Corner of the World. This last date featured one of the greatest lineups of Blakey’s powerhouse outfit The Jazz Messengers with Lee Morgan on trumpet, Wayne Shorter on tenor saxophone, Bobby Timmons on piano, and Jymie Merritt on bass. Spirits are high on this superb outing from the iconic introduction by MC Pee Wee Marquette through 2 volumes of thrilling hard bop.


A1: The Opener
A2: What Know
A3: The Theme
B1: 'Round About Midnight
B2: The Breeze And I


  • Recorded - 14 September 1960, Birdland Jazz Club, New York
  • Producer - Alfred Lion