Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Blue Lab Beats - Motherland Journey 2LP

Blue Lab Beats

Blue Note, 2022

London-based Jazztronica duo Blue Lab Beats make their full-length Blue Note Records debut with Motherland Journey, an album years in the making that is a celebration of pushing boundaries, taking risks, and overcoming adversity. Following their appearance on 2020’s acclaimed Blue Note Re:imagined project, and their 2021 EP We Will Rise, the new album is a star-studded affair featuring the duo—producer NK-OK and multi-instrumentalist Mr DM—joined by collaborators including Ghetto Boy, Kiefer, Kofi Stone, Tiana Major9, KillBeatz, Teni Tinks, Poppy Daniels, Emmavie, Jackson Mathod, Kaidi Akinnibi, Ego Ella May, Pip Millett, Dylan Jones, and Jerome Thomas. One of the fastest-rising production duos in the world right now, with a Grammy nomination for their work on the Angelique Kidjo album Mother Nature, and a MOBO nomination for ‘Best Jazz Act’ in 2021 testament to their rise, Blue Lab Beats craft a supple, wide-ranging sound inspired by the pioneers of hip-hop and the music of the African diaspora while staying true to their London roots.


Disc 1

Side A

  1. Sky Reflections (Intro)
  2. Labels Feat. Tiana Major9 & Kofi Stone
  3. I’ll be here for you Feat. Teni Tinks
  4. Gotta Go Fast Feat. Poppy Daniels
  5. A Vibe

Side B

  1. Don’t Let It Get Away Feat. Emmavie
  2. Inhale & Exhale (Interlude)
  3. Blow You Away (Delilah) Feat. Ghetto Boy
  4. Sensual Loving Feat. Ghetto Boy

Disc 2

Side A

  1. Motherland Journey Feat. KillBeatz & Fela Kuti
  2. Ultramarine (interlude)
  3. Warp Feat. Jackson Mathod & Kaidi Akinnibi
  4. Slow Down Feat. Ego Ella May

Side B

  1. Dat It (Feat. Kiefer)
  2. Home Feat. Pip Millett & Dylan Jones
  3. Real Good Feat. Jerome Thomas
  4. Reflection (Outro)