Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Cassandra Wilson: Glamoured 2LP (Blue Note Tone Poet Series)

Cassandra Wilson

Blue Note, 2003

A singular jazz singer who brings the blues, folk & pop into her music in a strikingly original way, Cassandra Wilson's nine brilliant Blue Note albums earned her wide acclaim, Grammy Awards & a legion of fans. Released in 2003, Glamoured found Wilson working with producer Fabrizio Sotti on 12 songs split between her own compelling originals and artful covers of songs by Sting ("Fragile"), Luther Ingram ("If Loving You Is Wrong"), Bob Dylan ("Lay Lady Lay"), Willie Nelson ("Crazy"), Muddy Waters ("Honey Bee") & Abbey Lincoln ("Throw It Away"). The result is a sophisticated, rootsy album which defies genre boundaries.


Side A

  1. Fragile
  2. Sleight Of Time
  3. I Want More

Side B

  1. If Loving You Is Wrong
  2. Lay Lady Lay
  3. Crazy
  4. What Is It?

Side C

  1. Heaven Knows
  2. Honey Bee
  3. Broken Drum

Side D

  1. On This Train
  2. Throw It Away

Blue Note Records' Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tape 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).


  • Cassandra Wilson - vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Gregoire Maret - harmonica
  • Brandon Ross - baNew Jerseyo, guitar
  • Fabrizio Sotti - guitar
  • Reginald Veal - bass
  • Calvin X Jones - bass
  • Jeff Haynes - percussion
  • Herlin Riley - drums, washboard
  • Terri Lyne Carrington - drums
  • Recorded - Dec 2002 - March 2003 , Sonic Temple, Jackson, Mississippi
  • Producers - Cassandra Wilson & Fabrizio Sotti
  • Engineer - Sean Macke