Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Chet Baker - Chet Baker Sings LP (Tone Poet Series)

Chet Baker

Blue Note, 1956

There are several Chet Baker albums with the title Chet Baker Sings, but this one recorded for Pacific Jazz in 1954 and 1956 is the original, and arguably, the best. The album features Chet’s indelible vocals and sterling trumpet playing with two different quartet line-ups both featuring pianist Russ Freeman on a set of classic standards that he made his own including “My Funny Valentine,” “That Old Feeling,” and “I Fall In Love Too Easily.” For the first time in more than 60 years, this definitive edition was cut from the original master tapes in the correct order with pristine fidelity. The gatefold packaging includes additional session photography by William Claxton.



Side A

A1: That Old Feeling

A2: It’s Always You

A3: Like Someone In Love

A4: My Ideal

A5: I’ve Never Been In Love Before

A6: My Buddy


Side B

B1: But Not For Me

B2: Time After Time

B3: I Get Along Without You Very Well

B4: My Funny Valentine

B5: There Will Never Be Another You

B6: The Thrill Is Gone

B7: I Fall In Love Too Easily

B8: Look For The Silver Lining


Blue Note Records’ Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tape 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).