Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Gabor Szabo: The Sorcerer (Verve By Request Series) LP

Gabor Szabo

Impulse!, 1967

This 1967 set, recorded live at Boston’s Jazz Workshop, showcases virtuoso guitarist Szabó—a veteran of Chico Hamilton’s and Charles Lloyd’s bands—at the top of his game on a diverse program featuring standards (“What Is This Thing Called Love”) and pop hits (“The Beat Goes On”) as well as the original and psychedelic-tinged jam, “Space.”


Side A
1. The Beat Goes On
2. Little Boat = O Barquinho
3. Lou-ise 
4. What Is This Thing Called Love? 

Side B
1. Space 
2. Stronger Than Us
3. Mizrab 
4. Comin' Back

Ahmad Jamal (piano)

This Verve By Request title is pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Third Man in Detroit.