Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Geri Allen: Twenty One (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition) LP

Geri Allen

Blue Note, 1994

The brilliant pianist and composer Geri Allen came out of Detroit’s fertile jazz scene, eventually moving to New York where she became part of the emerging M-Base collective that was forging new creative ideas and approaches to jazz in the 1980s. Allen began recording for Blue Note in 1990 with The Nurturer followed by Maroons in 1992. For her 3rd Blue Note album Twenty One, recorded in 1994, Allen joined forces with two masters—bassist Ron Carter and drummer Tony Williams—for a dynamic trio date. Allen’s stunning lyricism, as well as her boundless harmonic and rhythmic creativity, shines on this remarkable 12-song set that presents her own compelling originals like “Feed The Fire,” “RTG,” and “In The Morning” alongside choice standards (“If I Should Lose You,” “Tea For Two, “Lullaby Of The Leaves,” “Old Folks”) and pieces by Thelonious Monk (“Introspection/Thelonious”).

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition was mastered by Kevin Gray and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.


A2: If I Should Lose You
A3: Drummer's Song
A4: Introspection / Thelonious

B1: A Beautiful Friendship
B2: In The Morning (For Sister Leola)
B3: Tea For Two

C1: Lullaby Of The Leaves
C2: Feed The Fire

D1: Old Folks
D2: A Place Of Power
D3: In The Middle