Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Herbie Hancock: The Prisoner LP (Tone Poet Series)

Herbie Hancock

Blue Note, 1969

Recorded and released in 1969, Herbie Hancock’s last Blue Note album, The Prisoner, is a powerful but overlooked masterpiece. A moving tribute to Dr. Martin Luther King, this nonet session features some of the most exceptional instrumentalists in jazz including Joe Henderson, Johnny Coles, Hubert Laws, Garnett Brown, Buster Williams, and Albert “Tootie” Heath. Hancock said of The Prisoner: “I've been able to get closer to the real me with this album than on any other previous one.”


A1. I Have A Dream
A2. The Prisoner
B1. Firewater
B2. He Who Lives In Fear
B3. Promise Of The Sun



  • Recorded - April 18, 21 and 23, 1969 at Van Gelder Studio, New Jersey
  • Engineer - Rudy Van Gelder
  • Producer - Duke Pearson

Blue Note Records’ Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tape 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).