Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

James Brown: Soul On Top (Verve By Request Series) LP

James Brown

King, 1970

In the liner notes to this grooving 1969 album, featuring a big band led by drummer Louis Bellson and arranged by Impulse! star Oliver Nelson, the Godfather of Soul explains that he is a “jazz man at heart.” Brown’s soul consigliere, saxophonist Maceo Parker, helps make this a swinging, spirited and satisfying set of standards and JB hits.

Verve By Request Series features 180-gram vinyl, pressed at Third Man in Detroit.


Side A
1. That's My Desire
2. Your Cheatin Heart
3. What Kind Of Fool Am I
4. It's A Man's, Man's, Man's World
5. The Man In The Glass

Side B
6. It’s Magic
7. September Song
8. For Once In My Life
9. Every Day I Have The Blues
10. I Need Your Key
11. Papa's Got A Brand New Bag

James Brown (vocal)
Louie Bellson Orchestra; Louie Bellson (conductor)