Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

McCoy Tyner: The Real McCoy LP (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition)

McCoy Tyner

Blue Note, 1967

In 1967, pianist McCoy Tyner was ready for a new start. He had left John Coltrane’s quartet two years previously and moved on from Coltrane’s label Impulse! Records, as well. With his Blue Note debut, The Real McCoy, he made his masterpiece and firmly established himself as a creative force of his own. Featuring a world-class quartet featuring saxophonist Joe Henderson, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer – and former Coltrane quartet bandmate – Elvin Jones, the album presents five enduring Tyner originals including “Passion Dance,” “Search for Peace,” “Blues on the Corner,” and the blazing “Four By Five.”


A1. Passion Dance
A2. Contemplation
B1. Four By Five
B2. Search For Peace
B3. Blues On The Corner


This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.


  • Recorded - April 21, 1967 at Van Gelder Studio, New Jersey
  • Engineer - Rudy Van Gelder
  • Producer - Alfred Lion