Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Miles Davis: Ascenseur pour l'echafaud LP

Miles Davis

Fontana, 1958

The contradictory accounts of Miles Davis' creation of the soundtrack to Louis Malle's film noir Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud have all become part of its legend. Rarely has a soundtrack been so decisive. Close to seven decades on, beyond the myth, this taut, feverish recording, imbued with extreme dramatic tension, remains one of Miles' finest albums — and one of the only jazz soundtracks which was entirely improvised. Decca France presents this beautiful limited edition re-issue of the original recording, pressed on 180g vinyl and packaged in a deluxe gatefold tip-on jacket with Boris Vian's original liner notes and Jean-Pierre Leloir's iconic studio photo of Miles and Jeanne Moreau; included is an insert with an essay on the circumstances that led to this out-of-the ordinary music by Franck Bergerot.


Side A

  1. Générique
  2. L’Assassinat de Carala
  3. Sur l’autoroute
  4. Julien dans l’ascenseur
  5. Florence sur les Champs-Élysées

Side B

  1. Dîner au motel
  2. Évasion de Julien
  3. Visite du Vigile
  4. Au bar du Petit Bac
  5. Chez le photographe du motel


  • Music composed by Miles Davis
  • Recorded at Le Poste Parisien - December 4/5 1957
  • Miles Davis, trumpet; Barney Wilen, tenor-sax; René Urtreger, piano;
  • Pierre Michelot, bass; Kenny Clarke, drums