Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Milt Jackson: Milt Jackson and The Thelonious Monk Quintet LP (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series)

Milt Jackson

Vibraphonist Milt Jackson appeared on a number of Blue Note sessions throughout the bebop era in the late 1940s and early 1950s including a 1952 date under his leadership which featured the original line-up of the Modern Jazz Quartet with John Lewis on piano, Percy Heath on bass, and Kenny Clarke on drums, plus Lou Donaldson on alto saxophone. That year Blue Note released the 10” LP Wizard of the Vibes which included Jackson’s memorable theme “Bag’s Groove.” In 1956, Blue Note transitioned to the 12” LP and began the fabled 1500 Series, releasing the expanded LP Milt Jackson and The Thelonious Monk Quintet—BLP 1509—with added tracks from 1948 and 1951 dates led by Monk, including a quartet date with John Simmons on bass and Shadow Wilson on drums, as well as a quintet date with Sahib Shihab on alto saxophone, Al McKibbon on bass, and Art Blakey on drums.


A1: Lillie
A2: Tahiti
A3: What's New
A4: Bags' Groove
A5: On The Scene
A6: Willow Weep For Me

B1: Criss Cross
B2: Eronel
B3: Misterioso (Alternate Master)
B4: Evidence
B5: Lillie (Alternate Master)
B6: Four In One (Alternate Master)

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is mono, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original masters, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.