Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Tord Gustavsen Trio: Opening LP

Tord Gustavsen

ECM Records, 2022

On the album Opening, Tord Gustavsen reveals a fresh angle to his particularly unique trio investigations into Scandinavian folk hymns, gospel, chorale, and jazz. With a new fellow traveler on board, the trio discovers inspired new ways to interact with each other, using innovative approaches to sound and technique in the process. The group's conversations bring an enticing unfamiliarity to the language the Norwegian pianist has developed over almost two decades of collaboration with ECM.


Side A
1. The Circle
2. Findings / Visa från Rättvik
3. Opening
4. The Longing
5. Shepherd Song
6. Helensburgh Tango

Side B
1. Re-Opening
2. Findings II
3. Stream
4. Ritual
5. Fløytelåt / The Flute [0:00-1:15/1:16- 3:44]
6. Vær sterk, min sjel