Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Robert Glasper: Canvas 2LP (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition)

Robert Glasper

Blue Note, 2005

On his acclaimed 2005 Blue Note debut, Canvas, pianist and composer Robert Glasper proves he has jazz chops in abundance with his acoustic trio featuring bassist Vicente Archer and drummer Damion Reid. A hip-hop sub-context lies just beneath the surface in the album’s skittering beats, hinting at future directions on albums like 2012’s GRAMMY-winning “Black Radio.” The album features special guests Mark Turner on tenor saxophone plus vocalist Bilal, and presents Glasper’s signature sound on nine original tunes as well as a nod to one of his biggest influences with a version of Herbie Hancock’s “Riot.”


A1: Rise And Shine
A2: Canvas

B1: Portrait Of An Angel
B2: Enoch's Meditation
B3: Centelude

C1: Jelly's Da Beener
C2: Chant

D1: Riot
D2: North Portland
D3: I Remember


  • Recorded - May 13 to 25, 2005 at System Two, New York
  • Producer - Eli Wolf